The best vegan multivitamin

From bestreviews.com
By
Julia Austin
BestReviews

Americans are becoming vegans at a rapid rate. In 2014, only one percent of Americans reported following a vegan lifestyle. In 2021, six percent say they are vegan.

Modern food culture isn’t designed to make it easy for vegans to get the nutrients they need from food, but many of the supplements that could address that issue aren’t vegan. It might surprise some to find that an innocent-looking pill or capsule would contain non-vegan ingredients, but there can be a lot hiding in one tiny tablet. Keeping a vegan lifestyle means avoiding animal-based ingredients in everything, including multivitamins, which is why a vegan multivitamin like the Deva Vegan Multivitamin and Mineral Supplement is so useful to someone on a plant-based diet.

What to know before you buy a vegan multivitamin

Ingredients to avoid

There are dozens of ingredients that are commonly found in supplements that are not vegan. A few common items include gelatin, which is often used as a thickener in gummy vitamins; collagen, which comes from animals and is used to strengthen human collagen; B12, which typically comes from animals unless specifically stated as vegan; and omega-three fatty acids, which traditionally come from fish. Vitamin D3 also tends to come from fish, but in vegan supplements will come from algae. In many cases, your multivitamin will not list the source of the nutrients, so the only way to guarantee they do not come from animals is to buy certified vegan supplements. 

Nutrients vegans need most

If you’ve been reading up on vegan cookbooks and nutritional materials, you likely know that there are vegan options for most nutrients. However, some nutrients are difficult to get in adequate doses from reasonably sized servings of vegan foods. For example, B12 can be hard to get on a vegan diet as the best sources of it are eggs, meat and dairy. Zinc is another nutrient found in high numbers in animal products like oysters, beef and pork and as such, a vegan diet might be low in it. The most potent sources of omega-3 fatty acids are fish, making this another nutrient vegans might struggle to get through their diet. Iron is readily available in red meat, and something else vegans could be low on. These are all nutrients you might consider checking for in your vegan multivitamin.

Vegan doesn’t always mean natural

Do keep in mind that vegan multivitamins might be free of animal products but that doesn’t mean they’re entirely void of other problematic ingredients. If you follow a vegan diet as part of a general attempt at only consuming clean foods, check other labels on your multivitamin. Some vegan multivitamins do contain gluten, preservatives, artificial coloring and artificial flavoring. These ingredients aren’t inherently bad, but it is important to note they might still be found in vegan multivitamins.

Vegan multivitamin features

Delivery system

It’s important that your vegan multivitamin comes in a form that you find appealing, or at least don’t find difficult to take. If you struggle to swallow large pills, consider looking for a vegan multivitamin that comes in small pill form. You can also skip pills or capsules entirely and opt for vitamin gummies which are delicious and don’t trigger a gag reflex. In some cases, you can find a quality vegan multivitamin powder that can be mixed into juice and smoothies. The best way to ensure that you take your vitamin daily is to look for a delivery system that works for you.

Nutritional values

It might be a good idea to meet with a nutritionist or your doctor to discover which nutrients you’re low on. Getting the nutrients your body needs is the first step to feeling your best, preventing illness and fighting chronic disease. It is a good idea to gain detailed knowledge about what nutrients you’re low on and tailor your multivitamin choice to those needs.

Allergens

Do check your vegan multivitamin for any allergens that are problematic for you. While a vegan multivitamin won’t contain animal products, it might contain common allergens such as soy, gluten or nuts. If you have concerns about ingesting non-natural ingredients, look for a vegan multivitamin with a short ingredients list.

Vegan multivitamin cost 

Vegan multivitamins vary in price from $10-$35. The quantity will often drive the price. However, in some cases, there will be a generic option with the same nutritional profile as a name-brand vitamin for a fraction of the cost.

Vegan multivitamin FAQ

Do vegans need to take a multivitamin?

A. While a quality plant-based diet can provide most of the nutrients one needs to be healthy, most nutritionists agree that it is very difficult to get certain nutrients such as vitamin B12 and iron in adequate amounts through a plant-based diet. In order to avoid certain health conditions, it is advisable that vegans take a multivitamin to address any deficiencies in their diet.

Are vegan multivitamins expensive?

A. Vegan multivitamins tend to be similar in price to non-vegan options.

Which vegan multivitamin should I get?

Best of the best vegan multivitamin

Deva Vegan Multivitamin and Mineral Supplement: Available at Amazon

Our take: This multivitamin offers impressive amounts of important nutrients and a short ingredients list.

What we like: This vitamin is a powerhouse of nutrients that vegans need. In addition to vitamins, it contains healthful minerals packed into an impressively short ingredients list.

What we dislike: The pills are large and can be difficult to swallow.

Best bang for your buck vegan multivitamin

NextDia Superfruit Vitamin Gummies: Available at Amazon

Our take: These delicious gummy vitamins are ideal for those who struggle to swallow pills.

What we like: It can be difficult for vegans to get collagen in a multivitamin but, fortunately, these supplements contain collagen-enhancing plants. Offered in gummy form, these are easy to consume. They offer high values of vitamin C for immunity.

What we dislike: Their overall nutritional profile is limited.

Honorable mention vegan multivitamin

Wellvites Kids Multivitamin Gummies: Available at Amazon

Our take: If you have your child follow a plant-based diet, these yummy gummy vitamins will help them stay on track.

What we like: These vitamins are sugar-free as well as void of common allergens such as gluten and nuts. The label conveniently lists the daily values of each nutrient for ages two to three years of age, as well as those four and up. They offer excellent values of nutrients vegans need like several B vitamins, and they contain fiber.

What we dislike: They have a slightly sticky texture.

Julia Austin is a writer for BestReviews. BestReviews is a product review company with a singular mission: to help simplify your purchasing decisions and save you time and money.

BestReviews spends thousands of hours researching, analyzing and testing products to recommend the best picks for most consumers. BestReviews and its newspaper partners may earn a commission if you purchase a product through one of our links.

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.